Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000994

Microsoft Northlake Data Center

reported operational

Microsoft

601 Northwest Avenue · Northlake · Cook County · Illinois · 60164

Capacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026exact location · confirmed source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
Microsoft
Address and locality
601 Northwest Avenue · Northlake · Cook County · Illinois · 60164
Lifecycle status
reported operational
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
exact
Source confidence
confirmed
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000994

What the source record says

Microsoft's Azure North Central US site at 601 Northwest Avenue, Northlake. The 158 MW figure is reported utility supply capacity from three on-site substations, not an IT load, so it is recorded under energy notes rather than capacityMw. The Aligned ORD-01/ORD-02 buildings already tracked sit on the same street but are separate operators and parcels.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-09-12 · reported operational

    Two-phase facility totalling roughly 707,000 sq ft, in service since 2009 and subsequently expanded under a 2021 state MOU.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID microsoft-northlake-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →