| Microsoft QuincyQuincy, Washington | Evaporative cooling with a city-operated, closed-loop blowdown treatment and recirculation systemGovernment-documented operation | Recycled cooling water; canal water for make-up; about 5% potable groundwater make-up annuallyGovernment-documented mix | EPA estimate: 138M gal/year potable-water savings; 260M gal/year canal make-upEstimated savings + reported flow; not total consumption | Supported as deliveredConfidence: High | US EPA case studygovernment case study · published 2023 |
| Microsoft Mount PleasantMount Pleasant, Wisconsin | Company says site will pilot closed-loop chip-level liquid cooling with no water evaporation for coolingCompany-announced design | Initial system fill; other site water uses not quantified in reviewed disclosureCompany design description | Microsoft identified a 2026 pilot; the same disclosure says new sites begin online in late 2027Milestones announced; no operating result verified | AnnouncedConfidence: Medium | Microsoft design disclosurecompany announcement · published 2024-12-09 |
| Google The DallesThe Dalles, Oregon | Not established in the reviewed primary sourceNot verifiable | Site-specific cooling source not established; separate aquifer storage project transferred to cityCooling source not verifiable | Google says the city received 100M+ gallons/year of additional stored-water capacityCompany-reported community capacity; not data-center consumption | Mixed evidenceConfidence: Medium | Google project announcementcompany announcement · published 2025-10-22 |
| AWS New CarlisleSt. Joseph County, Indiana | AWS says the site uses outside air for cooling about 98% of the yearCompany operating/design claim; multi-site cluster | Not disclosed in the reviewed sourceNot verifiable | Approximately 18M gal/year at full buildoutCompany projection; not permitted or measured consumption | Announced projectionConfidence: Medium | AWS economic-development accountAWS-authored opinion hosted by Chamber · published 2026-07-09 |
| Google Fort WayneFort Wayne, Indiana | Not disclosed in the reviewed utility orderNot verifiable | Not disclosed in the reviewed utility orderNot verifiable | No water metric in the reviewed order; it confirms the site was energized in November 2024Water quantity not verifiable | Not verifiableConfidence: Low | Indiana IURC order 46276utility commission final order · published 2026-04-29 |
| Meta JeffersonvilleJeffersonville, Indiana | Not established in the reviewed project announcementNot verifiable | Not established in the reviewed project announcementNot verifiable | No permitted or measured water quantity established in the reviewed sourceNot verifiable | Not verifiableConfidence: Low | Meta project announcementcompany announcement · published 2024-01 |