This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.
Facility snapshot
- Operator as published
- Amazon Web Services
- Address and locality
- Wheatfield · Jasper County · Indiana
- Lifecycle status
- reported permitted
- Facility type
- data center
- Reported capacity
- Not stated
- Source freshness
- 25 July 2026
- Location precision
- exact
- Source confidence
- confirmed
- Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000170
What the source record says
Codename Project Rise. Nine-building campus on 304 acres of NIPSCO-owned land ~0.5 mi from the R.M. Schahfer Generating Station; part of AWS's $15B Northern Indiana commitment. CAPACITY OMITTED: data-center IT load not disclosed; the 400 MW figure is NIPSCO's new gas peaker plant, not the facility's load. INVESTMENT OMITTED: DCD reports AWS is 'estimating an investment of around $7 billion' - a soft estimate, so no firm investmentUsd is recorded (noted here). ~250 permanent jobs are a projection (in notes, not jobs). AWS commits to restore 425 acres of Kankakee River watershed habitat and provide $25M for Wheatfield Township water access; AWS committed $1.25B to offset NIPSCO ratepayer impacts across the broader buildout. Coordinates are the Wheatfield centroid. Distinct from Project Rainier (New Carlisle) and the Hobart IN campus.
Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.
Status history supplied by the source
- 2026-06-03 · reported proposed
AWS presented plans at a public open house at Kankakee Valley High School
- 2026-06-17 · reported permitted
Jasper County Commissioners unanimously approved development agreements and a zoning change
Sources and attribution
- Amazon plans nine-building data center campus in Wheatfield, Indiana · Data Center Dynamics
- Jasper County approves $7B Amazon Web Services data center project · Inside INdiana Business
- Officials approve Jasper County Amazon data center · Northwest Indiana Business Magazine
- Amazon gets greenlight for $7 billion data center bringing 250 jobs to NW Indiana · NWI Times
- HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD
Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-wheatfield-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.
This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.