Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000154

AWS Portage Data Center (AmeriPlex at the Port)

reported operational

Amazon Web Services

West Prairie School Drive · Portage · Porter County · Indiana

Capacity not statedSource updated 14 September 2026approximate location · rumored source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
Amazon Web Services
Address and locality
West Prairie School Drive · Portage · Porter County · Indiana
Lifecycle status
reported operational
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
14 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
rumored
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000154

What the source record says

$87M total comprises roughly $35M of building and $52M of IT equipment, in the AmeriPlex at the Port business park north of I-94 and south of Ports of Indiana-Burns Harbor. At least 10 jobs at $100,000+ were committed, and Portage reported $7.5M of property taxes over ten years under the abatement agreement — that figure is taxes payable, not an abatement amount, so no subsidy entry is asserted. This is a small AWS edge/availability-zone site, entirely separate from the New Carlisle Project Rainier campus already tracked.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2023-12-20 · reported proposed

    Amazon announced an $87 million data center at AmeriPlex at the Port after a 2.5-year local recruitment effort.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026 · reported operational

    Reported as operational by commercial data-centre trackers. Compute Atlas does not cite those trackers — their terms forbid redistribution and this dataset is CC-BY-4.0 — and no primary record (county, utility or company) confirming operation has been found, so this status is carried at `rumored` confidence and is deliberately uncited.

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID aws-portage-in. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →