Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000258

CloudHQ Mount Prospect (ORD) Campus

reported under construction

CloudHQ

Mount Prospect · Cook County · Illinois

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · confirmed source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
CloudHQ
Address and locality
Mount Prospect · Cook County · Illinois
Lifecycle status
reported under construction
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
confirmed
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000258

What the source record says

$2.5B, ~1.5 million sq ft across three two-story hyperscale buildings (each >80 MW) on a 49.7-acre site; ComEd grid partnership. Update: the village board approved a revised plan (~Oct 2025) consolidating the original three two-story buildings into two three-story buildings plus a second electrical substation, superseding the building-count description above; confirmed delivery targets are the first building in 2027 and the second by end of 2030. As of July 2026, CloudHQ was mid-permitting the revised design (~3,700 drawing sheets, 1,500+ pages of structural calcs); the village hired outside firm HR Green to review it. Construction is active, with cranes on the fenced 50-acre site as of January 2026. Public-reception check (2026-09-10): Could not get past a paywall/block for the Daily Herald's Mount Prospect coverage or the original CloudHQ groundbreaking press release (both 403'd). Notable circumstantial signal: the Village of Mount Prospect maintains its own dedicated 'Community Information and Fact Check Portal' page specifically for this project (URL found via search, itself 403'd on fetch), which typically indicates the village has been fielding enough resident questions/concerns to warrant an official FAQ/rebuttal page -- but I could not retrieve its actual content, so I am not asserting a status from an inference I couldn't verify. Also found (via search, not independently fetched) reporting that Illinois data-center opposition broadly 'escalates' statewide and that the village sought outside help on Biometric Information Privacy Act (BIPA)-related permitting questions, neither of which I could confirm as specific to community opposition at this site. Reporting 'unknown' rather than guessing.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2022-08 · reported under construction

    Groundbreaking with ComEd on hyperscale campus

    Open cited source →

  2. 2025-10 · reported under construction

    Village board approved a revised plan consolidating the original three two-story buildings into two three-story buildings plus a second electrical substation. First building targeted for 2027, second for end of 2030.

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-07 · reported under construction

    Mid-permitting the revised design (~3,700 drawing sheets, 1,500+ pages of structural calcs); village hired outside firm HR Green to review it. Cranes active on the fenced 50-acre site as of January 2026.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID cloudhq-mount-prospect-ord-il. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →