Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001152

Prince William Digital Gateway

reported cancelled

QTS / Compass Datacenters

Gainesville · Prince William County · Virginia

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026exact location · confirmed source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
QTS / Compass Datacenters
Address and locality
Gainesville · Prince William County · Virginia
Lifecycle status
reported cancelled
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
exact
Source confidence
confirmed
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001152

What the source record says

Would have been largest data center campus in the world at over 22 million sq ft across approximately 2,000-2,100 acres (per WTOP). Cancellation is landmark precedent on Virginia public-notice requirements. Coordinates are approximate for Pageland Lane corridor. Re-checked 2026-09-10: the record is accurate and current. QTS's July 2, 2026 Virginia Supreme Court petition withdrawal (by GW Acquisition Co., LLC and GW Acquisition Co. I, LLC) is correctly reflected in statusHistory; no further developments found since.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2021-01 · reported proposed

    QTS and Compass proposed 2,100-acre, 37-data-center campus adjacent to Manassas National Battlefield Park along Pageland Lane corridor

    Open cited source →

  2. 2023-12 · reported permitted

    County Board of Supervisors narrowly approved rezoning in marathon 27-hour session; incoming supervisors had not yet taken office; rezoning later challenged in court

    Open cited source →

  3. 2026-07 · reported cancelled

    QTS withdrew Virginia Supreme Court appeal July 2, 2026 after Court of Appeals unanimously halted project March 2026. Circuit court had voided rezoning August 2024 citing inadequate public notice under Va. Code § 15.2-2204. Project officially terminated.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID prince-william-digital-gateway-va. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →