Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-001512

University of Alabama High Performance Computing and Data Center

reported under construction

University of Alabama

709 Johnny Stallings Drive · Tuscaloosa · Tuscaloosa County · Alabama

Capacity not statedSource updated 15 September 2026approximate location · confirmed source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
University of Alabama
Address and locality
709 Johnny Stallings Drive · Tuscaloosa · Tuscaloosa County · Alabama
Lifecycle status
reported under construction
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
15 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
confirmed
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-001512

What the source record says

University research computing facility on the eastern edge of the Tuscaloosa campus, not a commercial colocation or hyperscale site — include or exclude according to whether Compute Atlas tracks institutional HPC. UA states verbatim: "The facility's 40,000 square feet will allow for a substantial increase in UA's computing power" and "an estimated $25 million of computing power"; it will host a "petascale computing system, meaning it will be capable of performing quadrillions of calculations per second" and be the "only system in Alabama to meet the benchmarks for the Top500 list". FUNDING, NOT RECORDED AS investmentUsd: the fetched source names a U.S. Department of Commerce NIST disbursement plus an Alabama Education Trust Fund appropriation approved by the legislature and Gov. Ivey in 2023, but states NO dollar totals for either; a search summary cited $96M total / $44.5M NIST / $46M ETF, and no page stating those was fetched, so they are omitted. The $25M is computing equipment, not construction investment, so investmentUsd is deliberately empty. NO CAPACITY RECORDED: no MW figure appears in the fetched source (an aggregator lists 14.6 MW — not verified, not cited). STATUS: recorded as under_construction because completion was projected for "late 2026" and that window is now open; a maintainer should check whether it has opened, in which case this becomes operational. Coordinates are the campus centroid, not the building on the eastern edge of campus.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2024-11 · reported under construction

    UA Board of Trustees gave Stage IV approval on 12 November 2024; "Construction can begin" with completion projected for "late 2026".

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID university-of-alabama-hpc-tuscaloosa-al. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →