Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000809

Idaho National Laboratory Collaborative Computing Center (C3)

reported operational

Idaho National Laboratory (U.S. Department of Energy)

Idaho Falls · Bonneville County · Idaho

Capacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location · confirmed source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
Idaho National Laboratory (U.S. Department of Energy)
Address and locality
Idaho Falls · Bonneville County · Idaho
Lifecycle status
reported operational
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
12 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
confirmed
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000809

What the source record says

High-performance computing data center on INL's Research and Education Campus (REC) in Idaho Falls -- distinct from INL's much larger remote desert 'Site' reservation (see the separate Aalo Atomics record in this batch). Houses DOE/INL supercomputers including Sawtooth, Hoodoo, and Bitterroot, supporting nuclear-energy modeling/simulation, materials science, and data science research; remote access is provided to Idaho university researchers via the Idaho Regional Optical Network. Built alongside the adjacent Cybercore Integration Center (80,979 sq ft) as part of a combined ~148,000 sq ft project; C3 itself is variously reported as 66,520 sq ft (general contractor JE Dunn) and 73,000 sq ft (engineering subconsultant AEI), and its power capacity is similarly inconsistent between fetched sources -- JE Dunn describes an '8MW High Performance Computing (HPC) Data Center with 2MW of redundancy' and a 'Day 1 installation of 4MW capacity,' while AEI's page states '1.5 MW total power'; these were not reconciled and no capacityMw field is recorded here pending a source that resolves the discrepancy. Completed circa 2022 per JE Dunn's project metadata. No exact street address was given in either source fetched.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID inl-c3-idahofalls-id. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →