Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000787

Buick City Data Center

reported proposed

Hillwood-Sterling

902 East Leith Street · Flint · Genesee County · Michigan

Capacity not statedSource updated 10 September 2026approximate location · reported source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
Hillwood-Sterling
Address and locality
902 East Leith Street · Flint · Genesee County · Michigan
Lifecycle status
reported proposed
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
10 September 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
reported
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000787

What the source record says

Address resolved from a WHOLLY DIFFERENT lane than last wave attempted (both Crain's Detroit and the direct EPA prospective-purchaser Federal Register notice 403'd/blocked every fetch this run, consistent with this repo's prior experience with Michigan sources). The address '902 East Leith Street, Flint, MI' for the broader former Buick City complex is independently confirmed by two fetched sources: Genesee County View's 2023-05-25 piece on Ashley Capital's adjacent 'Flint Commerce Center' redevelopment ('The site address provided in the article is: 902 E. Leith St. in Flint'), and EPA's own 2023-11-01 press release on the Flint Commerce Center LLC prospective-purchaser agreement for 'roughly 330 acres of the former Buick City manufacturing facility.' Leith Street is independently documented (via a non-cited Wikipedia cross-check, used only to sanity-check geography, not as a source) as the street that divides the ~413-acre Buick City site into northern and southern sections, and the chosen Leith Street road segment (of several OpenStreetMap-tagged segments) falls within the site's other documented boundary streets (E Pierson Rd to the north, N Saginaw St/Industrial to the west, E Hamilton Ave to the south, James P Cole Blvd to the east -- all geocoded this run to confirm the bounding box). This is the general Buick City site address, NOT a confirmed parcel boundary for Hillwood-Sterling's specific ~200-acre sub-parcel within it (Ashley Capital, not Hillwood-Sterling, is RACER Trust's direct purchaser of the larger site; Hillwood-Sterling's deal, per Gander Newsroom, is reported as a ~200-acre interest within the broader former Buick City footprint) -- precision 'approximate' reflects both the geocode-not-parcel caveat AND this sub-parcel uncertainty. CONFIDENCE RAISED from 'rumored' to 'reported': Gander Newsroom (updated 2026-09-03) names a specific developer ('Hillwood-Sterling, a joint venture backed by Dallas-based real estate developer Ross Perot Jr.') and a specific acreage under contract, which is more than an unsourced rumor, though it still falls short of a permit or filed site plan -- none exists yet because the moratorium blocks the city from accepting one. STATUS remains 'proposed': Gander Newsroom states 'it's still unclear who the end user would be for a potential Flint project -- or what size and investment it would involve,' and the moratorium (in effect since 2026-06-08) means 'no permit applications, site plans, or construction for data centers will be accepted or processed by the city of Flint' -- so no site-plan or rezoning application can exist yet by design, not by omission. CONFIRMED ABSENCES: no megawatt capacity, investment figure, or job count in any source fetched this run.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

No status history was supplied in this edition.

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID hillwood-sterling-buick-city-flint-mi. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →