Licensed lead · not independently verified · dcd-dir-000269

Coachella Valley Technology Campus

reported cancelled

Stronghold Power Systems

Coachella · Riverside County · California

Capacity not statedSource updated 2 August 2026approximate location · reported source confidence
How to read this page

This is a source-attributed discovery row. It can help you find a place and its citations; it is not a DataCenterData finding that the facility is distinct or currently operating.

Facility snapshot

Operator as published
Stronghold Power Systems
Address and locality
Coachella · Riverside County · California
Lifecycle status
reported cancelled
Facility type
data center
Reported capacity
Not stated
Source freshness
2 August 2026
Location precision
approximate
Source confidence
reported
Stable directory ID
dcd-dir-000269

What the source record says

450-acre, two-phase project (Phase 1: 240 acres, reportedly 270-300 MW across three to six buildings - sources disagree on the building count; Phase 2: 210 acres, up to roughly 600 MW combined) near the Fillmore Street and Avenue 52 intersection in eastern Coachella. Status recorded as cancelled as the closest schema fit: the city's only concrete agreement with the developer was terminated by City Council on 2026-06-04 and the city is one to two votes (2026-08-12, 2026-08-26) from a permanent data-center ban, though the developer has not formally withdrawn. Re-check after the August 2026 council votes. No AI/HPC-specific marketing found anywhere - both the developer and press use generic 'data center'/'technology campus' language; the NBC headline's 'AI data center' phrasing is journalistic shorthand, not developer marketing. Planned around three microgrids and an energy center under a self-supplied municipal-utility model (Coachella Valley Power Services LLC, a Stronghold subsidiary; DMK Project Solutions Services is the named project-management partner); the Imperial Irrigation District separately projected approximately $42M in municipal-utility infrastructure financing - not project capex, so investmentUsd is left unset. Capacity is disclosed only as a range and jobs only as vague estimates ('hundreds of local jobs'), so both are omitted from structured fields per this dataset's range-omit convention. Only cross-streets are known (Fillmore Street and Avenue 52) - no parcel address confirmed. Coordinates are an approximate road-segment geocode (Avenue 52), not a parcel-confirmed point.

Capacity is not ranked or totaled here.

Any MW value is reproduced as source-reported context. Its measurement boundary is not established consistently enough for comparison. Unknown is not zero.

Status history supplied by the source

  1. 2026-02-11 · reported proposed

    Coachella City Council approved a conceptual Municipal Utility Development Agreement with Coachella Valley Power Services LLC, a Stronghold Power Systems subsidiary; the project never reached the Planning Commission for its own land-use entitlements.

    Open cited source →

  2. 2026-06-04 · reported cancelled

    City Council unanimously terminated the Stronghold utility agreement and approved a 45-day data-center moratorium after sustained community opposition. The moratorium was extended roughly 10.5 months on 2026-07-08, and the Planning Commission recommended a permanent citywide data-center ban (two conditions attached) on 2026-07-15, with Council adoption votes scheduled for 2026-08-12 and 2026-08-26.

    Open cited source →

Sources and attribution

Adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Upstream ID coachella-valley-technology-campus-ca. Filtered to data-center records in the 50 U.S. states; selected fields normalized for search and display; DataCenterData directory IDs added.

No reviewed match is linked.

This does not mean the row is wrong. It means DataCenterData has not promoted it through the independent evidence workflow.

Corrections

Report an error in this row →